Scrum Certifications

What is the Scrum Alliance?

The Scrum Alliance is a not-for-profit organization that oversees the certifications of ScrumMasters, Product Owners, Scrum coaches, and trainers. They offer a wealth of information and useful events to help you use Scrum effectively. You can learn more about the Scrum Alliance on their website:

Scrum Alliance Certifications

Certified ScrumMaster

The Certified ScrumMaster course offers training in the fundamentals essential for Scrum team members or a professional ScrumMaster.

Certified Scrum Product Owner

The Certified Scrum Product Owner course exposes students to the basics of Scrum from the product owner’s perspective. Receive training in the art of managing a product backlog and working with a Scrum team.

Certified Scrum Developer

The Certified Scrum Developer program trains team members in advanced agile engineering practices and other agility skills, along with the Scrum fundamentals developers need to create working software.

Certified Scrum Professional

The ultimate goal of all Scrum practitioners, the Certified Scrum Professional credential conveys demonstrated experience, documented training, and proven knowledge in the art of Scrum.

Certified Scrum Coach

Certified Scrum Coaches are Certified Scrum Professionals who have a talent for guiding others to attain their unique goals.

Certified Scrum Trainer

Certified Scrum Trainers are Certified Scrum Professionals who are uniquely qualified to teach you the skills you need to succeed with Scrum.

How do I know which certification is right for me?

If you are unsure which course to take, the Certified ScrumMaster course is the best place to start. It is the most basic Scrum course and provides a thorough grounding in the principles of agile project management, the Scrum basics, writing user stories, estimation, and release planning.

How long does my certification last?

Once you pass the exam, you are certified for two years. After this point, you can renew your certification for a nominal fee or pursue the advanced Scrum certification, the Certified Scrum Professional.

What is a Certified Scrum Professional?

For advanced practitioners of Scrum, becoming a Certified Scrum Professional is a great way to boost your credibility and career opportunities. To become a CSP, you must:

  • Be a current holder of an active CSM, CSPO, or CSD credential.
  • Have a minimum of 36 months of successful agile/Scrum work experience gained within the past 5 years implementing Scrum inside organizations as team member, Product Owner, or ScrumMaster
  • Gather and submit 70 Scrum Education Units (SEUs) from the past three years. Note that SEUs earned from your CSM (up to 16 SEUs), CSD (up to 24 SEUs), and/or CSPO (up to 16 SEUs) certifications can put you well on your way.

People interested in pursuing an agile coaching career are strongly encouraged to pursue a CSP certification.